Well, it’s been seven clear years, but today I received the news that I have a couple of lymph nodes that have increased in size.  The oncologist was keen to make me aware that of course this may mean nothing at all, but just to be on the safe side I will have to undergo another ultrasound scan and needle biopsy.

I must admit, after all this time the news came as a bit of a shock.  I had sat quite happily in the waiting room reading Mark Edwards’ latest thriller, totally oblivious to the fact that a few hours’ previously the oncologist had been discussing the results of my MRI in a multi-disciplinary meeting with the surgeon who performed my last operation and God knows who else.

Of course the surgeon had always told me on previous visits that the cancer could recur.  I realise it’s the nature of the beast; remission/relapse/remission/relapse seems to be the name of the game with this disease.  However, after seven clear years I had become rather blasé about it, and today has been a bit of a wake up call not to treat my cancer with anything less than the respect it deserves.

There will be a few days waiting for the appointment for the ultrasound/biopsy to come through, and then the nail-biting wait for the results.  The possibility of more surgery looms large in my mind, but I must remain positive.  I have many more books to write before I shuffle off this mortal coil.  I’m not done with this life yet.  Watch this space…………

 

 

