I’ve found the only marketing strategy that definitely seems to work for me is entering into competitions. In this way one of my novels ‘A House Without Windows’ has managed to win a few awards and has gained quite a lot of interest, with at least one book sold every day. I know that’s not much, but it’s a start! Tweeting reviews is a good one too.

The Opening Sentence

Some say marketing is how you sell books. Some swear by social media, others believe book signings are the way forward. Others take a more . . . unorthodox approach and get themselves arrested.


marketing Fleetwith Pike, the summit of my writing career to date.

What all these people have in common is that they never back up their bright ideas with real results. We’re never told Minnie Wrotchett’s heavily social media-ed 18th Century erotic police procedural followed all the guidelines and still only sold three copies. In this post I’m going to tell you what happened in the summer of 2014 when I tried to market Toten Herzen Malandanti in the real world!

First port of call was the local press. I had a contact, a name, the chief press officer no less, who rang me at home late one night. We spoke for a good forty-five minutes and he…

View original post 594 more words

