We can all do with a laugh.  Sam and I share a similar dry sense of humour, and I thought I’d share with you a funny episode that happened over the weekend.

Because of my upcoming radiation treatment, I’m currently on a low-iodine diet for a fortnight.  Shopping is a bore because I have to read all the labels to make sure there’s no added soya, sea salt, egg yolk or E127 in my already dairy-free diet.  When I read the labels on various loaves of bread last week I couldn’t find any loaf that didn’t contain soya flour.  My daughter-in-law suggested making my own, and her mother was kind enough to loan a bread-making machine, even though I said I’d happily go without bread for the two weeks necessary.

I hate baking of any sort, and am not programmed to cook anything other than the evening meal.  I have no idea how to make bread or cakes, and the thought would never occur to me to do so.  The tedium of standing in the kitchen knocking up dough horrified me, but Sam was interested in the workings of the bread machine and offered to make me some.

Sam is a perfectionist.  He likes reading instruction manuals. He had never made bread before, and wanted to turn out the perfect loaf as shown in the recipe book.  This quest had him sweating in the kitchen for several hours knocking out loaf after loaf and batches of rolls until he was finally satisfied.  My freezer is now full of enough bread to feed an army for a year, maybe even two.  I’m going to weigh twenty stones when I’ve finally eaten it all.

I told him I felt a blog coming on.  Sam said I should incorporate the episode in one of my books.  He even started off the first sentence: “She opened the front of her dress to reveal…… two large baps!”

They say laughter is the best medicine.  It’s better than a dose of radiation any day.

 

