Tags

Open Book Blog Hop new

Thanks to Christine Ardigo for the introduction.  You can check out her blog here:

http://christine-ardigo-author.com/     and check out her books here: http://www.amazon.com/Christine-Ardigo/e/B00K9A9AQ6/

Do you like to read? Would you like to know more about your favourite authors? Well you have come to the right place! Join the MMB Open Book Blog Hop each Wednesday and we will tell all. Every week we’ll answer questions and after you’ve enjoyed the blog on this site we’ll direct you to another. So come back often for a thrilling ride! Tell your friends and feel free to ask us questions in the comment box.

This week’s question: Let’s talk music. What do you like? What are your favourite songs? Band? Concert? 

A very apt question, seeing as how I’ve not long returned from the Isle of Wight music festival!

SONY DSC

I grew up in the 1970’s, and by the time I was 14 I realised there was more to the music scene than listening to my mother’s Max Bygraves records (You’re a pink toothbrush, I’m a blue toothbrush….remember that one? No? You haven’t lived…..).  For a start there was the delectable David Cassidy and his TV show The Partridge Family, which had my adolescent hormones surging…..

One day my mum told me he looked like a girl, and it put me off.  I spent the next few years joining various musical groups at school, and getting to know Gilbert & Sullivan’s operettas, which I still love today.  Mum was heavily into the classics as well as Maxy, and I had a good grounding in Tchaikowsky, Sibelius, Ravel and Schubert, before ultimately realising that I preferred Bach, Handel and Mozart.

I have always loved reggae too.  My best friend as a very young girl hailed from St. Lucia, and before we moved house I loved to listen to her family’s reggae records.  I had never heard anything like it.  This gave me a lifelong love of the music of Bob Marley, Peter Tosh, and Dennis Brown to name but a few (my son recently bought me a huge Bob Marley framed picture which now hangs on my dining room wall).  I even wanted to go and see Mr Marley play at Crystal Palace when I was about 13, but Dad gave me a look I recognised very well, and I knew I’d be on a hiding to nothing.

Near the end of my schooldays I changed tack and discovered Rock (which funnily enough I found out years later that Mr Cassidy always preferred to the anodyne love songs he was made to sing).  This started with Rod Stewart’s Maggie May (one of the first records I bought), closely followed by Bad Company’s Alright Now, Led Zeppelin’s Whole Lotta Love, Jeff Beck’s Hi, Ho Silver Lining, and Status Quo’s Caroline.  By the time I was 18 I was catching the train up to London with friends and going to see rock bands play at the Hammersmith Odeon; the likes of Be Bop Deluxe (I had a crush on Bill Nelson for years) Thin Lizzy (Scott Gorham was gorgeous), Deep Purple, and the aforementioned Quo (we still see Quo play at least once a year!).

There were the years between 1982 – 1993) when all I heard were the sounds of babies crying or boys fighting.  There didn’t seem to be time to listen to much music at all, but then the boys grew older and we suddenly had a bit of money to take them to concerts.  The first one we took them to was a Page & Plant gig at Wembley Stadium in 1995.  They loved it; in fact my youngest son took up the guitar shortly afterwards and joined a band when he was 14, being fortunate enough years later to be in the right band at the right time that eventually briefly supported Devin Townsend, travelling with him around Europe in a 16-bed tour coach.  My eldest son branched out into Trance (before coming back to Rock in his late 20’s), but the other one often joined us at Quo or Deep Purple concerts, where his eyes never left Steve Morse’s fingers.

The festivals started when the boys had left home and we had more disposable income; Isle of Wight, Download, High Voltage, Sonisphere, and Hard Rock Calling to name but a few. We’ve been to many festivals over the years, and love the atmosphere.  What I really wish is to have been at the 1970 Isle of Wight festival and to have seen Jimi Hendrix play, but alas I was far too young and Dad would have given me one of his looks if I’d asked to go…….

What type of music does Kelly Williams like?  You can find out by clicking on her blog here:  www.BlueHonor.com/blog/  You can also check out her books by clicking the link below:

http://www.amazon.com/K.-Williams/e/B002YFZ018/

