Very interesting post. However, regarding myth #5, what is the right price for your e-book? In my opinion we should never give our work away for free, as some readers will grab anything for nothing, even if it’s not in their preferred genre. When they eventually get around to reading your book and it’s something they do not like because it’s not what they usually read, you will most likely get a bad review.

If we price our e-books higher than say $3.99, then probably we will have trouble selling them at all. Mine are priced at $1.95. I still feel that is too low for the amount of work I have put into them, but I have sales every day and am loathe to interfere with that.  I have also had Google alerts to sites where my books are being offered for free.  After now reading that many of these sites are fake and are just waiting for the author to register and give up their personal and bank account details, I am glad I never investigated these people and signed up!

What price do other authors think e-books should be priced at?

Nicholas C. Rossis

From the blog of Nicholas C. Rossis, author of science fiction, the Pearseus epic fantasy series and children's books image: ghostradio.wordpress.com

I saw the other day a post about book piracy in Anastacia Moore’s blog. She was rightly fuming, because, while checking out her video trailers, she noticed that someone was advertising on You Tube a link to receive free copies of said books.

A few days before that, my friend N.N. Light had kindly emailed me to let me know that she had found her book, “Princess of the Light” on a similar website, and that she had seen my work there as well.

Then came the news that Australia’s Copyright Agency has welcomed a decision by the British High Court requiring internet service providers (ISPs) to block access to websites hosting millions of pirated e-book titles. The decision means Britain’s five major ISPs – BT, Virgin Media, Sky, TalkTalk and EE – will be asked to block seven offshore-hosted websites within 10 working days.

The sites – AvaxHome…

View original post 1,201 more words

