Tags

Thanks to Chris Harrison for taking part on WordPress, and thanks to Robin J who contacted me on my website. However, unfortunately I cannot announce a winner, but what I’m going to do this time is a rhyming slang quiz. Check the answers to the Cockney quiz below, and then take part in the new quiz to see if you can guess the rhyming slang. Contact me on my website with your answers before August 7th http://www.stevie-turner-author.co.uk/ and there’ll be a free copy of one of my books for the first one who contacts me with the right answers.

Answers to the Cockney Quiz

1. ‘Put that bit of wood in the ‘ole’ means close the door.
2. You’re astounded or surprised if you say ‘Not since old Leatherarse died’. The usual sentence is ‘I’ve never known the like since old Leatherarse died’.
3. You’re cold if you say ‘it’s taters’.
4. You’re thirsty if you have a ‘mouth like a soap-boiler’s arse turned inside out and whitewashed’.
5. ‘That’s your hopping pot’ means ‘That’s your lot’.
6. ‘Me old Dutch’ can be either my mate (my old Dutch plate) or my wife (Duchess of Fife).
7. You’re talkative if you ‘have a lot of rabbit’.
8. If you saw a sky pilot you would be in a church (slang for a vicar).
9. If you are ‘cream crackered’ you are very tired (knackered).
10. ‘Mungee for the goat’ is food. It possibly originated from the French verb ‘manger’ (to eat).

Cockney Rhyming Slang Quiz

1. What are ‘apples and pears’?
2. What is a ‘dog and bone’?
3. What is a ‘frog and toad’?
4. What are ‘daisy roots’?
5. What is ‘barnet fair’?
6. What are ‘mince pies’?
7. What is ‘a butcher’s hook’?
8. What is a ‘ruby murray’?
9. What is ‘taters in the mould’?
10. What is ‘tomfoolery’?

