New Open Book Blog Hop picture

Do you like to read? Would you like to know more about your favourite authors? Well you have come to the right place! Join the MMB Open Book Blog Hop each Wednesday and we will tell all. Every week we’ll answer questions and after you’ve enjoyed the blog on this site we’ll direct you to another. So come back often for a thrilling ride! Tell your friends and feel free to ask us questions in the comment box.

This week’s theme:  Songs from your past.  Share your high school music loves.

I don’t know about the USA, but over here in the UK children attend secondary schools from the age of 11 – 18, so I’ll blog this week about the music I remember from the years 1969 – 1976.

I had not long started secondary school in the autumn of 1969 when there was talk of ‘Woodstock’.  I had no idea what Woodstock was, and at the time remained happily ignorant of this iconic music festival until  few years later.

Also at school there was often the word ‘Reggae’ scratched into the wooden desks.  I had no idea what this was either, until I had the good fortune to be best friends with Marie who hailed from St. Lucia.  When I used to knock for her to come out to play, there was always the most mesmerising bass tones emanating from inside her house.  One day I asked her what the music was called, and she said ‘Reggae’.  It all began to slot into place, and I’ve been a fan of reggae music ever since!  It’s great to play it loud in the car; Bob Marley, Dennis Brown, Peter Tosh, Steel Pulse, Toots & the Maytals…..I love it all.

There were a few lost years where I drooled over David Cassidy from about the age of 13 or 14, but happily as the seventies got into their stride my ears would prick up to the sound of the new rock bands; Led Zeppelin, Status Quo, Bad Company, Thin Lizzy, Be Bop Deluxe, Deep Purple, Fleetwood Mac and The Rolling Stones to name but a few.  Also prog rock began to rear its musical head around that time, and I was lucky enough to be around to listen to Wishbone Ash, Yes, and Genesis.  I have always been a fan of long, wailing, electric guitar solos!

By the time I was 18 in 1976 I was getting on the train with friends and going up to the centre of London to see the bands I loved so much.  I was lucky enough to see Thin Lizzy, Bad Company, Be Bop Deluxe, and Deep Purple play, along with David Bowie, Status Quo and later on Page & Plant (I never saw Led Zep play unfortunately).  I also became a fan of the blues, and often went to see Gary Moore play too.  I marvelled at the way he could sing and play guitar at the same time; no mean feat.

Today I still listen to reggae, rock, prog rock and blues, sometimes with a little classical thrown in, especially Handel, Bach and Mozart.  Handel’s ‘Zadok the Priest’ makes my spine tingle!

What music did P.J MacLayne listen to in high school?  Click on this link to find out  http://pjmaclayne.blogspot.co.uk/  You can also check out her books here: http://www.amazon.com/P.J.-MacLayne/e/B00HVE8WZI/

To link your blog to this one, please click on the link below:

An InLinkz Link-up

