Tags

New Open Book Blog Hop picture

This week on the Open Book Blog Hop we’re talking about Quantity versus Quality.  When it comes to the things we value most in life, what do we prefer, and why?

As I’ve grown older I must say that I value silence, and the peacefulness of our quiet home.  The boys have long ago flown the nest, and to sit stress-free in a silent room to write is, to me, one of life’s great pleasures.  Sam works upstairs in his office most of the day, and I work downstairs in mine.  We bring each other cups of tea during the day, and sometimes even speak a few words to each other!  The noise level in the NHS office where I worked up until December last year was off-putting, and I found most of the time that I couldn’t concentrate.  Being an only child I grew up used to silence I suppose, and now if I’m in a place where everybody’s talking at once and I have to shout (which I cannot do anyway due to medical reasons) then I start wishing I could go home!

Enjoy the silence

When I visit my eldest son I find a house humming with constant background noise. The TV is on all the time, or loud music is playing on the stereo.  Everyone has to shout to get their voices heard.  My youngest granddaughter always shouts when she speaks even when she comes to our house, as to her, shouting is normal.  I say nothing to my son and daughter-in-law as a noisy house is their preference, but our eldest granddaughter compliments us on our quiet home, and actually likes coming here to stay!  I teach the grandchildren a well-known little poem, but so far I don’t think it’s sinking in…..

A wise old owl sat in an oak. The more he heard, the less he spoke. The more he spoke the less he heard. Why can’t we be like that wise old bird?

Another thing I value is the surrounding countryside around us.  After being born and brought up in London I consider myself very lucky to live in East Anglia, which is somewhat different to living in South London, but it took me a couple of years to get used to it.  Now I cannot ever envisage moving back to ‘The Smoke’.  I also value being able to get outside and walk around in the country lanes, listen to the birds twittering, and generally communicate with nature!

autumn

Of course I also value feeling reasonably well, considering I have lived with thyroid cancer for at least 15 years. So you see, the things I value are not money or possessions.  As far as I’m concerned it’s all about being healthy, and living a stress-free life in the way that you want, and being true to yourself.  It took me 30 years to be able to live true to myself, and in my humble opinion I think it’s the best way to live!

What does Rebecca Lovell value in life?  Rebecca started out writing fan fiction when she was in middle school, and all of it had original characters and romantic entanglements.  Over the years she has become much better at writing and moved on to her own work, but the romance has always stayed the same.

Rebecca Lovell

Rebecca enjoys reading all kinds of books (her favorite writers include JK Rowling, Suzanne Collins, Carolyn McSparren and Lynn Graeme), and loves swimming and interesting beer (current favorite is Revolver Brewing’s Blood and Honey). She lives in Texas with her cats.  You can check out her blog and books here. http://rebeccalovellbooks.com/about/

If you would like to link your blog to this one, please follow the rules below and click on the link.

1. Link your blog to this hop.
2. Notify your following that you are participating in this blog hop.
3. Promise to visit/leave a comment on all participants’ blogs.
4. Tweet/or share each person’s blog post. Use ‪#‎OpenBook‬ when tweeting.
5. Put a banner on your blog that you are participating.
Code for Hosting: link your blog to this one:

An InLinkz Link-up

