I don’t know about everybody else, but I’m not keen on the time when all the Christmas lights and decorations have to come down.  During the Christmas holidays our house and garden are wonderfully illuminated, as you can see below:

My houseLighty up

However, when all the celebrations are over and the lights are unplugged, it all seems to fall a bit flat, and I realise there’s still 2 grey months of winter to get through.  Never mind, my spirits this year will stay high.  There is an advantage to growing older,  as I’ve now taken early retirement and thankfully do not have to go out to work at 06:30 in the snow and ice.  I can sit at home and write instead!

One year when we lived in London and the boys were small, we left the lights up all year round, but I think our neighbours might object out here in the quiet, dark country lanes of East Anglia!

Do you feel rather let down when all the Christmas decorations are put back in the cupboard, or is it just me?  To be quite honest, I don’t think there’s a worse month than January!  Some suffer with the SAD syndrome (Seasonal Affective Disorder) and have to sit under lamps to try and fight it.  Luckily I’m not a depressive person, and try to get outside every day and go for long walks.  I look around at the lovely countryside while I’m walking, and feel grateful that I live where I do.    Below is the road outside my house in the winter of 2013.  The Land of Skies they call it here (there are no tall buildings, only tall trees). The village looks lovely in the snow, but all we’ve had this year though is rain.

 

