Tags

Thanks to a good friend of mine whom I have got to know whilst doing my author thing in Cyberworld (but actually have never met personally), I now have a much-coveted free ticket which allows me to pitch my latest novel ‘Repent at Leisure’ to an agent in a kind of ‘speed-dating’ event taking place at the end of February in London.  I have 30 seconds to state my pitch, and then the agent reads the opening page of my novel whilst I sit there on tenterhooks eagerly awaiting the outcome.  The whole pitch lasts no more than six minutes before it’s the turn of the next aspiring author and for me to pitch off to The Strand Palace hotel for a much needed green tea.

Thirty seconds…hmmm……no pressure then!  I worked out that 30 seconds gives me no more than seven lines to recite.  I will have to cram the outline of a 65,000 word novel into seven lines.  I’ve wracked my brain and come up with at least ten different pitches!

Has anybody ever tried condensing their whole novel into seven lines?  It’s not easy I can tell you.  However, I cannot pass this chance up, and it’s a good excuse to visit my London again!

Looking at the online photo promoting the event, I can see that I’m at least 20 years older than both the agents and the authors depicted.  However, I’m not going to let this little matter of seniority faze me.  Maybe a few shovelfuls of foundation might do the trick?  Even better than that (and to stand out from all the other authors), perhaps I can wear a tasteful balaclava with just eyeholes, or even just a tasteful balaclava?

Joking apart, I also get the chance to ask a question to agents and publishers all gathered there together.  So….if any of you have a burning question that you’d like me to ask, feel free to comment below with the question.  I’ll pick the best one (as I think I can only ask a single question) and will give out the answer on my Haddon Musings’ Senior Salon blog following the event.  I want to ask something pertinent, but at the moment am wracking my brains about that one as well.

Looking forward to your questions!  Regards, Stevie.

 

 

