Tags

This week on the Open Book Blog Hop I asked fellow author and blog hopper P.J Fiala seven questions.  Here are her most interesting answers.  You can check out P.J Fiala’s awesome new website at   http://www.pjfiala.com/ and find out more about her and her books on her Amazon author page at http://www.amazon.com/PJ-Fiala/e/B00IL8OA04/

1.  Which marketing technique do you favour for your books?

This whole marketing game is tricky. When I first published, I found a couple of groups that were focused on social media and marketing.  I learned quite a bit in those groups.  But, I also branched out. I didn’t want to limit myself with only certain things and the one thing many people will tell you, is that you need to find what works for you and your books.  I’d love to tell you that I’ve found that, but I’m not sure I have.  What I have found is that about every 3 months or so, the marketing landscape changes.  Ever heard of the book Who Moved My Cheese by Spencer Johnson MD? (http://amzn.to/1TlT5NT)

This is a fabulous book that every business owner, entrepreneur, corporate executive and such should read. I think about it every day at work.  The gist of the story is, what worked last month, last year, last century will probably not work this month, year, century.  Times change, people change, social media changes and so do buying habits, interests and so on.  What that means to me as an entrepreneur is that I have to keep reading and learning about what is working now and figure it out for my business.  So, as we stand here today (or maybe sit), what seems to be working is promotional companies like BookBub and Robin Reads.  I’m not hanging all of my hopes and dreams on that though, because in the whole scheme of things, building a good solid base of work is where my stability will be.  So regularly blogging, having a great website (Ooo, speaking of, my new website went live last week, check it out www.pjfiala.com) and first and foremost, write good books is the best technique for marketing. **Steps down off soap box.

2.  How do you find inspiration for your novels?

I only have to wake up to find inspiration. People are fascinating, complex, and fabulous creatures and they make great characters for my books. Just looking around at my friends and family I can find inspiration. Everyone has gone through something. Everyone has some quirk, interest, talent, or way of thinking that can be woven into a story somewhere, somehow.

3.  Self-publish or small publisher?  Which one is best?

I’m currently a Hybrid author. I have a publisher, which is where my first four books reside, but I am also self-published or will be next month. I will continue to self-publish the rest of my books. I like having the control (see #1 above) of the changing landscape and being able to quickly adapt to that landscape. As to which is best? It really depends on your take. To publish with a publisher means you have no costs, and hopefully, an advance on proceeds. But, you give up a certain amount of control, depending on the publisher, by going that route. You may not be able to select your own covers. You may not have a lot to say about the editing, etc. By self-publishing, it’s a 180 degree turn. All costs are yours – – editing, cover design, promotions, marketing, proof reading. It’s all what you want to get out of it.

4.  What are you working on at the moment?

I am getting ready to publish the fourth book in my Rolling Thunder series, Gunnin’ for You on March 8th. Then I’ll feverishly be working on the next book in that series, Trusting JT. In between these two releases, I’m involved in an anthology with 11 other authors of similar but different genres. Romance, Mystery, Contemporary. We are sharing two characters, one from two different authors, weaving our secondary characters in and out of stories throughout the anthology. It’s been interesting making our timing work out, but it’s a great experience and a great group of authors to collaborate with. This anthology, themed around Beaches, will publish June 28th.

5.  Which three books would you take with you to a desert island?

I would take Kid Rock’s Born Free and Purple Sky. Love those songs – love his voice. He has the soulful sexy raspy voice that gets down deep! And, this past couple of years I fell in love with two acapella groups, The Pentatonix and Home Free. Their music winds itself around me and hangs on. Home Free did a Johnny Cash song, Ring of Fire, and Avi Kaplan from the Pentatonix sang with them, that would have to be my third song.

6.  Name one of your possessions that you cannot do without.

My phone. It’s sad really, but I rely on it so much. Pictures, videos, Facebook, email, Instagram, I read books on it, texting and it even makes and receives phone calls.

7.  Do you believe in an afterlife?

Well, I guess I do. I’m not sure if we all get one, I’m not sure if I want one, but I believe that some people continue on in certain respects after they’re gone. I honestly haven’t studied it to know much more about it, but there are times when I think, “When I come back, I’m hunting that bitch down.” So, I guess I’m saying, some people should hope I don’t have an afterlife. Luckily, there aren’t too many of those people.

What seven questions did P.J MacLayne ask me?  Click here…………to find out.   A computer geek by day and a writer by night, P.J. MacLayne grew up in the rolling hills of Pennsylvania and sets much of her writing in that landscape. She currently lives in the shadow of the Rocky Mountains.  You can check out her Amazon author page here http://www.amazon.com/P.J.-MacLayne/e/B00HVE8WZI/ and her blogs  here   http://pjmaclayne.blogspot.co.uk/

To join your blog to this hop, please click on the link below.

Rules:
1. Link your blog to this hop.
2. Notify your following that you are participating in this blog hop.
3. Promise to visit/leave a comment on all participants’ blogs.
4. Tweet/or share each person’s blog post. Use #OpenBook when tweeting.
5. Put a banner on your blog that you are participating.

An InLinkz Link-up

