This week we’re talking about how the books we read as teenagers affected us and how they influence our writing now.

I can remember being bored witless as a teenager at school dredging through dry-as-dust Shakespeare for an English exam.  I must admit I’ve never found any of  Shakespeare’s plays at all interesting, and have always preferred to read autobiographies and biographies or modern-day faction (fiction based on fact).  Even at age of 11 when I was interviewed for a grammar school and was asked by the headmaster which book I was reading, I told him that I had just finished a book about  Judy Garland.  Whether I got into the school because he was a fan of Ms Garland will forever be a mystery, but for sure it wasn’t for my  non-existent skills at Maths and Physics!

I look at my bookshelves at home now, and I can see biography after biography, mostly of musicians and writers, as the lives of authors and members of rock bands are what I am interested in.  However, I do also enjoy classic fiction from authors such as D.H Lawrence, L.P Hartley, A.J Cronin and R.F Delderfield.  My favourite classic fiction book as a teenager was A.J Cronin’s ‘The Keys of the Kingdom’, which was made into a film starring Gregory Peck.  I still have the original battered copy of this book on my shelf that I had as a 14 year old.  It was written in another lifetime and to many would appear old-fashioned today, but every now and then I like to re-read it and live in the past.  Likewise L.P Hartley’s ‘The Go-Between’, written in the days before Ted Burgess and Marian Maudsley could send text messages to each other and therefore make the story unrealistic.  I think this one is my all-time favourite, and I wish I could have thought of ‘The past is a foreign country.  They do things differently there’.

I don’t think my teenage reading preferences have ever influenced my writing.  I like to write about realistic and modern family relationship scenarios, which I have learned about or experienced personally as I have travelled along life’s rocky road, and then chill out by reading about authors and musicians that I admire.

Over the past 3 years I have also been reading and reviewing books by Indie authors at their request if the genre appeals to me.  I must admit that by doing this I have come to enjoy mysteries, psychological thrillers, chick-lit, romances and suspenseful novels, so it’s all good!

Click on the blue button below to add your blog and to find out what others have written on this subject.

Just to say I am at the Isle of Wight music festival next week, and so will be back here in a fortnight. x
Rules:

1. Link your blog to this hop.
2. Notify your following that you are participating in this blog hop.
3. Promise to visit/leave a comment on all participants’ blogs.
4. Tweet/or share each person’s blog post. Use #OpenBook when tweeting.
5. Put a banner on your blog that you are participating.



