Tags

51BbRBXgzGL._UY250_

Thanks to Creativia publishers I now have an updated version of The Donor, which will be just $0.99 on Amazon.com from Sunday June 26th to Saturday July 2nd.

https://www.amazon.com/Donor-Stevie-Turner-ebook/dp/B01G3KFZ64/

With ‘The Donor’ I have focused on sibling rivalry, writing the story from several perspectives.  I have never had any brothers or sisters of my own, but know plenty of people who are lucky enough to have one or two siblings, and I can vouch for the fact that sisterly relationships in particular can sometimes be fraught if not downright rocky.

Running alongside this theme is my love of the Isle of Wight.  I was just too young to have attended the 1970 music festival on the Island where Clare Ronson and Ross Tyler meet, but often visit Freshwater Bay, look out over Afton Down, and try to imagine what a gathering of 600,000 people there must have looked like.  While writing The Donor I visited Dimbola Lodge at Freshwater, which apart from an exhibition of pictures by the Victorian photographer Julia Margaret Cameron, also houses a museum of 1970 festival artefacts.  I immersed myself in the festival for a day, and pretended I was there.

Clare and  Ross are set for a happily ever after ending, until Clare’s sister Izzy and Ross catch sight of each other when Clare brings him home to meet her parents.   The fallout from this meeting lasts for over 30 years, until Ross turns up on Clare’s doorstep pleading with her to help Izzy in a way that only a sister can.

5 star review:

The final heartbreaking chapters moved me from disbelief to tears some of joy some of sadness

By julz gall on 18 Jan. 2016

Format: Kindle Edition

From the word go this book grabbed my attention and kept it to the very end.

This was a book I could not put down and I read it in 3 hours.

The characters were profoundly flawed and that only added to the realism of the story, the relationships between them all are bittersweet yet heartwarming.

It’s a story of one family who suffer because of one betrayal then as the story progresses you find that there was more betrayal that has happened in the past, it was so well written that I could see myself being one or another of the characters and put myself In their shoes at time I found myself rooting for one character then in the next chapter I was rooting for another and wishing I could grab the and shake them and tell them not to be so prideful and explain to them all they would loose out on.

In the second half of the story the main two characters find themselves reunited in the darkest of circumstance and they have to find a way to get through it all together and that leaves them both reeling! The final heartbreaking chapters moved me from disbelief to tears some of joy some of sadness, and it’s a credit to the author that she was able to convey these emotions with the telling of this fabulous story

 

