Tags

Today’s theme is to post our interesting, unusual, or eye opening research, or to post about how we research.

To be quite honest, I haven’t had to do too much research, as I mostly write from personal knowledge or experience. However, I have had to do a small amount of research for 3 of my books; the historical/paranormal short story Lilymy psychological thriller Repent at Leisure, and the thriller For the Sake of a Child.

Lilyrevenge41AWjdMlYjL._UY250_

http://www.amazon.co.uk/-/e/B00AV7YOTU/

With Lily: A Short Story, I have actually visited many of the places I wrote about, to get a feel for the area.  I have personally walked the Tennyson Trail at Freshwater Bay, Isle of Wight, right up to Lord Tennyson’s monument, and have strolled along Hooke Hill past the Red Lion Inn towards the church where Lily and Artie were married.  I was fortunate enough to be invited in for tea and scones to the tiny little stationmaster’s cottage along The Causeway where he and his wife brought up their eleven children, and wondered how on earth they all fitted in!

With Repent at Leisure,  all the locations in Menorca  had been visited by Sam and myself on our holiday last year.  I also used Google Maps one day, and spent a few hours virtually travelling along the M6 from London to Gretna Green, re-creating the journey that Anita had to take.  I found just the right spot on the map for her car accident, a little wooded area that actually exists, which is just off the main road into Gretna.  I also had to research the Sydney Harbour Bridge, and found out that it is possible for the public to climb it.  The top of the bridge was just the right place for Paul and his brother Terry to have their little heart-to-heart chat!

With For the Sake of a Child I contacted the National Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to  Children.  I was fortunate enough to have all my questions answered by Ferdi Nazim.

I’ve learned through reading various blogs that MyAlltop is a good research tool.  It enables you to create a “personal, online magazine rack” of your favorite websites and blogs, creating a personal collection from over 32,000 information sources.  Also socialmention.com is useful too.

Which research tools do you use?  To check out other blogs in the hop or to add your own link, please click on the blue button below.

Rules:
1. Link your blog to this hop.
2. Notify your following that you are participating in this blog hop.
3. Promise to visit/leave a comment on all participants’ blogs.
4. Tweet/or share each person’s blog post. Use ‪#‎OpenBook‬ when tweeting.
5. Put a banner on your blog that you are participating.



