Today’s theme is ‘What matters more to you when it comes to fiction: Characters or plot?’

For me the answer is simple.  If a book hasn’t got a good plot, then even the best characters in the world will not save it.

We’re all trying to accomplish the impossible;  to think up that stunningly original plot that nobody has ever thought of before.   I’ve just finished reading a book with very well crafted characters, but the plot was rather a let-down.  However, that’s just my opinion because currently it’s ranked in the 200’s on Amazon.com, so not everybody thinks the same as me.

I’ve made a short list below of those works of fiction and faction, traditional and self-published,  which I can read again and again and IMHO have the enviable qualities of not only a brilliant plot, but also unforgettable characters.  All but two have now been made into films, but in time I hope every one of them will.

  1. The Godfather, by Mario Puzo
  2. The Go-Between, by L.P Hartley
  3. The Keys of the Kingdom, by A.J Cronin
  4. The Great Gatsby, by F.Scott Fitzgerald
  5. The Lost Child of Philomena Lee, by Martin Sixsmith
  6. Indecent Proposal, by Jack Engelhard
  7. Out of Africa, by Isak Dinesen.
  8. Brideshead Revisited, by Evelyn Waugh
  9. The East End Butcher Boy, by Joe Lawrence
  10. The Magpies, by Mark Edwards

Which books in your opinion have the best plots and characters?  I’d be interested to find out!

 

 

