I don’t know if any of you were watching the Remembrance Day service at the Cenotaph today?  I was impressed by how Queen Elizabeth II aged 90, and 95 year old Prince Philip stood there stoically in Whitehall for at least 20 minutes without the help of any walking aids at all.  I had to admire their iron will; they both bent over to place a wreath on the Cenotaph, and then the Queen walked down the steps backwards before returning to stand at her spot.  Prince Philip decided not to walk backwards, but who can blame him?  The majority of people his age cannot even walk forwards!  My mother is 92 and I know she could not have stood there for that length of time, even with her walking frame.

With all the scandal and marriage-go-round of the younger royals, the Queen and Prince Philip have stayed together and will be celebrating their 70th wedding anniversary next November.  No other monarch has reigned in my lifetime, and I can only wonder at how many more years she will be able to attend Remembrance Day services in this manner.  I remember the Queen Mother smiling benignly from a balcony overlooking Whitehall in her later years, but so far Queen Elizabeth shows no signs of slowing down.  However, fortunately for us she seems blessed with remarkable health.

Long may you reign, Ma’am, and continue to set a wonderful example for the younger royals to follow.

 

