After watching  ‘Be That Person’ https://lisaorchard.wordpress.com/2016/12/04/be-that-person/  on Lisa Orchard’s blog, it got me around to thinking why some people are so hung-up about seeing their hair start to turn grey.  The lady on the vlog had a great way of looking at it.  She said the disease she was carrying made it certain that she would not live to a great age, and although her hair was turning grey in her thirties, she welcomed the fact that she was still alive.

I have two daughters-in-law who are both in their thirties as well.  One is horrified that she has a few strands of grey and dyes her hair virtually every week.  The other one has long hair down her back, but doesn’t care at all that some of it is grey.  My husband has thick brown hair with hardly a grey hair in sight, but when he grew a beard for the first time for ‘Movember’ last month, he couldn’t wait to shave it off because about half of it was grey and one of our granddaughters told him he now looked like a granddad!

I think I might have gained a little insight into this whole grey hair thingy.  A family friend dyes his hair dark brown, and also dyes his beard too.  When I saw him last it occurred to me that it doesn’t make him look any younger, because his face is still the same.  I’ve come to the conclusion that he thinks it makes him look younger, and so he’s happy with it.  In fact, to me, he’s dyed his hair and beard so dark, that it looks false.

Nature intends our hair to turn grey to compliment a lighter skin tone as we age.  Unless we have a face lift, dyeing our hair isn’t going to change our face, which reflects our age.  We cannot look 16 if we’re 60, and that’s a fact, Jack.  However, if we think we look 16, then we’re a lot happier and all’s right with the world!

I’m just off to the hairdresser’s for another coat of paint…

