This week we’re talking about our five favourite foods that we cannot live without.

I’ve never been a ‘foodie’, and was brought up with the motto ‘eat to live’ rather than ‘live to eat’.  Biscuits and cake were rationed as a child; I was forbidden to eat more than three biscuits at a time (“to stop your gut expanding”). Mum always drummed it into me that nobody needs to eat anything after 6pm, and I have kept to this for the majority of my life.  Plus the fact that I have a dairy and caffeine intolerance, and you end up with somebody who only thinks about food when she’s hungry.

I don’t eat the usual things that people love.  I don’t have a sweet tooth, and turn up my nose at anything icky-sweet.  I haven’t eaten chocolate,  cheese or biscuits for more years than I can remember, but I’m lucky in that I don’t feel as though I’m missing out.  I only drink water, green tea or fruit teas.  I’m a nightmare to take out anywhere, and prefer to eat at home.

So, I’ll try to answer the question about my favourite 5 foods.  I cannot say that I crave any foodstuff in particular, but I do like (unbattered) plaice or salmon, lamb or chicken casseroles with loads of vegetables and dumplings, roast potatoes, pineapple, and thick doorsteps of hot buttered toast.

I can (and do) live without sweets, chocolate in all forms, eggs, cheese, cow’s milk, chips, crisps, and fry-ups.  I rarely drink alcohol, but think nothing of it.  My worst evening out would be spending it sitting in a restaurant or in a pub.  My last meal out was in 2014 when Sam and I went out for a Valentine’s meal and he ended up fainting in the chair after eating lobster soup!  If I come and visit you, I will bring my own teabags.  The family have got used to me now, but I’ve often received the evil eye from non-family members after producing a lemon and ginger or a rooibos teabag.

Oh dear, perhaps you’d better not ask me to tea!

What are your favourite foods that you couldn’t do without?  Add your blog to this one by clicking on the blue button below:

Rules:

1. Link your blog to this hop.
2. Notify your following that you are participating in this blog hop.
3. Promise to visit/leave a comment on all participants’ blogs.
4. Tweet/or share each person’s blog post. Use #OpenBook when tweeting.
5. Put a banner on your blog that you are participating.



