Here’s a good one from H. Jackson Brown Junior, an American author best known for his inspirational book, Life’s Little Instruction Book, which was a New York Times bestseller (1991–1994). Its sequel Life’s Little Instruction Book: Volume 2 also made it to the same best seller list in 1993.

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.”  


I’m trying my best not to regret much at all if and when I get to the age of nearly 80 in 20 years’ time.  I’m throwing off the bowlines later this month literally, as Sam and I will be going on a cruise.  I’ll be doing one of the things near the top of my bucket list – attending the Mardi Gras in New Orleans and walking down Bourbon Street.  Sam and I are also going to swim with the dolphins while we’re on our cruise, another one on the list, and so February 2017 is looking good for me as far as bucket lists are concerned.

Of course one of the things that stops us catching the trade winds in our sails is money.  We’ve saved up for a year for our cruise to celebrate our upcoming 60th birthdays, and it will probably be some years before the next big holiday.  However, I’m lucky in that I’m just as happy sitting on one of our local beaches.  We had many years without money when our children were small, and some of my best memories are picnicking with the family on the beach at Great Yarmouth and paddling in the sea.

What’s on your bucket list?  I don’t have much else on mine, apart from living long enough to see my grandchildren grow up. However, another cruise to some far off land while I’m waiting would be the icing on the cake!

 

 

 

 

