Thanks to Chris, the Story Reading Ape for featuring me as a guest author.

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

My father unfortunately died far too young at only 49. However, he was a great teacher, and when I was about 8 or 9 he taught me how to play Chess.

20487182 - young boy playing chess on the competitions

Licence Obtained Copyright: photozi / 123RF Stock Photo

Most early evenings we would sit opposite each other at the chessboard after I had finished playing outside. Internet, together with mobile phones and iPads pinging and buzzing were a thing of the future, and there were no distractions. Mum liked to read, we didn’t have a landline phone, and the TV stayed off unless there was something interesting to watch.

Over a period of time I became rather better at planning my next move on the board. I never did manage to win any game against my father though, despite Mum telling Dad to let me win sometimes so that I wouldn’t want to give up. It didn’t occur to…

View original post 320 more words

