Tags

,

Up until the summer of last year I hadn’t either, but about May/June time I decided it was time to learn how to write a screenplay.   In my opinion I do not think the competition  is quite as fierce as it is with book competitions, and so I thought I’d turn a couple of my novels into screenplays and submit them into contests and see what happened.

I slaved away over the strange layout, taking heed of some tips on my friend Lucy V. Hay’s Bang2Write website.  My first effort was ‘For the Sake of a Child’, and I submitted the screenplay into the Depth of  Field International Film Festival (DOFFIF).  I have also written a screenplay for ‘No Sex Please, I’m Menopausal!’, which is still ‘in consideration’ for three other competitions.

Quite a lot of screenplay contests do not want long scripts past about 140 pages, and so I had to cut a fair bit out of the book.  I discovered it’s an exercise in writing just what people would see and hear on a screen, and it’s a bit different from writing a book.  However, today I received an email from DOFFIF, part of which reads as below:

Dear Stevie Turner,

We are pleased to inform you that your film has been accepted and is now an “Official Selection” at the Depth Of Field International Film Festival competition: an IMDb Event for listing awards, and a FilmFreeway “Top-100 Review” online festival selection.

Here’s the website for you to check out:  http://dofiff.com/frameindex.htm

Result!

DOFIFF%20Official%20selection[1].jpg

