Today’s quote is from the American comedian and TV host Ellen DeGeneres:

‘Beauty is about being comfortable in your own skin. It’s about knowing and accepting who you are.’

When we’re at that awkward age of about 12 – 17 we are desperate to be the same as our peers and to ‘fit in’.  We wear clothes that do not suit us and shoes that might possibly cause us to have to visit a podiatrist later in life,  just so as not to appear different to our friends.  I remember falling off my 6 inch platform shoes in 1974 in full view of shoppers in Lewisham High Street and tearing my bell bottom trousers.  In 1970 I walked about with a cow bell around my neck.  Now I think…why?

However, generally by the time we are in our fifties we wear clothes that suit us and eschew the more outlandish creations.  I care not two hoots whether I’m fashionable or not, because I now have no desire to fit into anybody’s idea of what I should look like.  I walk around wearing jeans, jumpers and trainers, and carry my faithful old rucksack on my back.  I can still hear my dear aunt telling my cousins…”She goes shopping with a rucksack!”.

Okay, so I’m a bit ‘bo-ho’ (bohemian) as my son calls me.  I hate handbags.  I like rucksacks, tassels, ruffles and fringes.  I like sitting in the middle of a field listening to rock bands playing, and I often go walking about in the dark with a torch.  I cannot remember the last time I wore a dress, but hey, that’s me.  I’m comfortable with it.

Have you accepted who you are, or are you still trying to fit in?  Below, here I am aged about 12 on a ferry somewhere, desperate for long straight blonde hair like my best friend, but…alas….(I’m okay with my mop now and have got it under control)!!

Aged about 11042.jpg

 

 

