This week we’re talking about how music influences our writing.

I’m the party pooper here, because I cannot listen to music at all when I write.  If I did, then I would be singing along to the music and would not get one word written.  I always like complete silence when I’m writing, and find that I can concentrate better that way and am not distracted.

I sometimes have songs in my head when I write, such as Free’s ‘All Right Now’ when I began the opening chapters for ‘The Donor’, which opened at the 1970 Isle of Wight music festival.  However, if I had listened to it at the same time on the radio as trying to write the first chapter, then I would have ended up leaving the computer and dancing around the room instead.

How can anybody concentrate on writing a story and listening to music at the same time?  My sons always used to say that music helped them concentrate better on doing their homework, and I have heard this generally of teenagers.  Now I am older, I find that music interrupts my thoughts, and instead I prefer to listen to it when I have a tedious job to do like ironing, which does not need much concentration.

I’m one of life’s thinkers.  I find that music, especially background music, can be very irritating when you’re trying to think about something.  On our recent cruise there was background music all over the ship, which was my only complaint.  There was never anywhere to get away from it.  Most of it was ‘muzak’, an instantly forgettable drone in the background which didn’t really need to be there.

Don’t get me wrong; I love music and enjoy attending music festivals.  It’s just that I don’t want to listen to it all the time!

Do you find that music helps you concentrate, or do you like silence?  Click on the blue button below to find out what other blog hoppers prefer, or you can add your blog to this one.

Rules:
1. Link your blog to this hop.
2. Notify your following that you are participating in this blog hop.
3. Promise to visit/leave a comment on all participants’ blogs.
4. Tweet/or share each person’s blog post. Use #OpenBook when tweeting.
5. Put a banner on your blog that you are participating.



