After my first three years of writing and chasing agents, this fourth year I’ve realised that self-publishing is where it’s at, man…

deborahjay

Neil Gaiman comes up with such wonderful quotes!
I’ve wanted to be an author since I was able to read, it was something I always assumed I would do.
It wasn’t until I was older that I realised it wasn’t (at that time) as straightforward as that.
Once I’d written a book that I believed was publishable (my third competed manuscript), I submitted to an agent in the US. She took me on straight away – woohoo! I was away!
It took 6 months for all the publishers to say ‘no thank you’, in the nicest possible way, all of them, but apparently this book was ‘not what we want at the time, although we like your writing’.
Encouraging, but disappointing.
In the meantime, while waiting for them to get back, I thought if I already had other books published, I would stand a better chance with my fiction, so I…

View original post 419 more words

