This week’s topic is a good one:

If you had the option to know the date of your death, would you want to know?

Well, I can see advantages and disadvantages to this one.  On one hand it would be good to know when I’m going to pop my clogs so that I could hand over all my book sites and the running of them to Sam  (if he hasn’t lost his marbles by then),  and close down all my social media sites and say one last goodbye.  I’d be able to transfer my bank account over to Sam, and say goodbye to family and also friends at work.  I could jettison the majority of my wardrobes’ contents, to give Sam one less onerous task to do.  I could then live it up if I’m able to, and do all those things I’d wanted to do when I didn’t have enough time.

Conversely to know the date of my death would be quite alarming I think.  I presume I’d only know the date and not how. Therefore in the run up to the date if I’m still healthy there would be worry about how it’s going to happen.  A road accident where I’m possibly in a coma for weeks?  A stabbing?  Ooh er… the possibilities are endless and I’m sure I’d end up agoraphobic and a gibbering wreck on the settee all day, trying to beat the grim reaper at his own game.  If I’m not healthy, then the least little sneeze or cough maybe even years before would make me start to catastrophise and turn a common cold into double pneumonia.

So to answer the question I’d say… no.  It wouldn’t be a good idea for me to know when I’m going to turn up my toes.  The stress of knowing might kill me before my end date!

Would other blog-hoppers want to know the date of their death?  Click on the blue button below to find out.

Rules:
1. Link your blog to this hop.
2. Notify your following that you are participating in this blog hop.
3. Promise to visit/leave a comment on all participants’ blogs.
4. Tweet/or share each person’s blog post. Use #OpenBook when tweeting.
5. Put a banner on your blog that you are participating.