This book was described as an ‘utterly gripping psychological thriller‘.

Description:

‘You don’t think Jamie and I have secrets, do you? No, we tell each other everything.’ She smiled. ‘Including your dirty little secret. So maybe it’s time to start being nice to me?’

THE WIFE: Clare is ready for a break. It’s been a tough year and now she wants to put her feet up. Arriving at the Italian villa for their summer holiday, she decides it’s high time her husband and his family did some of the work. After all, her husband owes her…

THE HUSBAND: Even though Dan had his head turned by someone else, he’s realised the error of his ways. He’s here now, and he says it’s for keeps. Clare can trust him, can’t she? At least he’ll have his brother there, to keep him in line…

THE BROTHER: Jamie is the prodigal child, back in the family fold again after years of travelling abroad. But when he gets to the villa, he’s not alone. He’s brought a wife, someone none of them have met before.

THE SISTER-IN-LAW: Ella is everything Clare isn’t. Glamorous. Young. Influential. But she knows a secret about Clare. Something that has the power to break the whole family apart.

And there’s someone who will do whatever it takes to make sure that this deep secret never comes to the surface.

An utterly unputdownable, gripping, twisty psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Before I Go To SleepThe Girl on the Train and Date Night.

My Review:

This book has only 4 and 5 star reviews on Amazon UK, and is ranked in the top ten, although it has 1, 2 and 3 star reviews on Goodreads.  I found the book quite absorbing and continued to the end, but I could not really relate to the character of Ella at all, who in my opinion is not very realistic.  She is an overly self-obsessed Instagram queen, downright rude from the get-go, and has seemingly married Jamie Taylor for all the wrong reasons.

The Taylors are having a lovely holiday at an Italian villa; Dan and his wife Clare with their 3 children, and Dan’s parents Joy and Bob.  Suddenly the favourite son, Jamie, arrives with new wife Ella, a slim and beautiful blonde, who is rude to Clare straight away, flirts with Dan, tries to ingratiate herself too much into her new niece and nephew’s lives,  and attempts to turn Joy against Clare.  She seems to know a secret about Clare that is held over her until about 70% of the book has been read.  I was getting a little tired of ‘the secret’ by then, and was glad when it was finally out in the open.

Clare at the start is hurt by Ella’s attitude towards her, but in time discovers a way of getting back at her new sister-in-law.  However, things do not go quite as planned, and all the while she is terrified that Ella will tell Dan her secret.  Their marriage has been rocky because of Dan’s past infidelities, and Clare hopes fervently that the holiday will be a chance to heal their wounds.

It’s quite a good read, but could have been better if Ella’s character was a bit more believable and the character of Bob a little less passive.  Who in their right mind is rude to a new sister-in-law they have never even met before and who will be sharing their 2- week holiday?

There is a twist at the end of this story where the reason for Ella’s behaviour becomes clear, but even so, her way of getting what she wants did not sit very well with me.

I give this book 3 stars, as apart from the character of Ella it was otherwise well written and it did hold my interest until the end.