Tags

,

There are 123 FREE books and samples to download for fans of General Fiction, Christian, and Young Adult novels in this BookFunnel promotion, which runs until March 21st:

https://books.bookfunnel.com/springreads/7r3w9jc9yv

My family drama ‘The Daughter-in-law Syndrome’ is part of this promotion, and you can download a free sample by clicking the link above.

The Daughter-in-law Syndrome investigates the complicated relationship causing much friction between Grandmother Edna Deane and her daughter-in-law Arla. In addition it focuses on the sometimes tumultuous partnership between Arla and her husband Ric.

Arla Deane sometimes likens her marriage to undergoing daily psychological warfare. Husband Ric will never voice an opinion, and puts his mother Edna up high on a pedestal. Arla is sick of always feeling that she comes in at only second best to her mother-in-law, who much to Arla’s fury is never told anything by Ric or his sisters that she would not want to hear.

This novel explores the husband/wife, mother/son, and mother-in-law/daughter-in-law relationships. After twenty eight years of marriage, Arla, the daughter-in-law, is at the end of her tether and persuades a reluctant Ric to accompany her for marriage guidance. As they look back over their lives with Counsellor Toni Beecher, Arla slowly comes to realise her own failings, and eventually discovers the long-hidden reason why Ric will never utter a cross word to his mother.

Also, adding to Arla’s stress is the fact that her son Stuart will soon be marrying Ria, a girl whom Arla feels is just looking for a free ride. Arla is convinced that Ria will be no asset to Stuart at all; her new daughter-in-law just wants to be a mother and has no intention of ever working again once the babies start to arrive. After visiting Stuart and Ria for Sunday lunch, Arla is convinced that her son is making the biggest mistake of his life!


The Daughter-in-law Syndrome – Kindle edition by Turner, Stevie. Literature & Fiction Kindle eBooks @ Amazon.com. Verified purchase review by Arlena Dean:

I will say that this author really did some magic with this wonderful read. I found it very well written covering all the subjects of ‘The Daughter In Law Syndrome’. I was left only saying Wow…very well done! The characters from Arla, Ric, that mother in law [Edna] and a few more were well developed, defined, portrayed and so believable giving the reader a read that will definitely keep your attention. Will seeking help after twenty eight years of marriage through a counselor [Toni] be able to help Arla and Ric in their marriage issues? Again this author did a wonderful job in presenting how it all starts…and continues on through dysfunction…even passing on to the siblings that can bring on even more disaster to the whole family.

In the end will there be a understanding between Arla, Ric, his mom, his sisters[Val & Jan]? How will all of this even help Arla with her son and daughter in law[Ria]? To get these questions answered and so much more I would definitely recommend you pick up this well written read. This is one those reads that any married woman may be able to relate to. This author really showed the readers that she was a good writer.