Welcome to this week’s blog hop, which I didn’t think I’d take part in as I thought I’d be on holiday at the van with my granddaughter. However, this has been postponed for a fortnight, and so… here’s the topic:

What’s something you look forward to as you age? And what do you miss from your youth?

Many people look forward to retirement as they grow older. However, trust me to buck the trend. I’m not yet ready to give up work altogether, although I have cut down on the hours I spend typing clinic letters. I still like to feel useful and needed in the workplace, and believe me, if you work for the NHS it doesn’t matter if you’re 16 or 66, you are needed!

What I do look forward to is the chance to spend more time at the seaside in our caravan now that I’ve cut down on my working hours. We eventually aim to spend most of our time there during the summer when Sam retires in 6 years’ time, and so yes, I will retire when he does, but for now I still like to be productive and earn my own money for as long as I’m able to do so. However, sadly I think my eyes will be ready to retire in another 3 years (or maybe even sooner) when the state pension kicks in, and so I may be forced to withdraw from the workplace earlier than I’d hoped.

I figure that when I get too old and frail to enjoy life, I’ll also look forward to death. I haven’t yet met any old, frail person who doesn’t. My mother yearned for it after the age of about 86. The older I get, the more I can see her point of view.

And what do I miss from my youth? There’s an ever-growing list, but I’ll write down the major ones in no particular order – just as I think of them:

  1. A pre-cancer body free from scars and damage from surgeries.
  2. The ability to run without knee pain.
  3. Eyes that do not water.
  4. Hair that doesn’t need painting every 6 weeks.
  5. A natural and ready supply of oestrogen.
  6. A voice that doesn’t sound like a constipated corncrake.
  7. My babies, who are now hulking men.
  8. My parents, grandparents, aunts and uncles… all now departed this life.

What do other blog-hoppers think? Click on the blue button to find out, or just leave a comment:

  1. Link your blog to this hop.
  2. Notify your following that you are participating in this blog hop.
  3. Promise to visit/leave a comment on all participants’ blogs.
  4. Tweet/or share each person’s blog post. Use #OpenBook when tweeting.
  5. Put a banner on your blog that you are participating.

You are invited to the Inlinkz link party!

Click here to enter
https://fresh.inlinkz.com/js/widget/load.js?id=a8b40ada7693d64e5923