Tags

Welcome to another blog hop. Today’s topic is:

What is the worst piece of writing advice you’ve ever received?

Years ago when I was starting out I took notice of online advice to build an author platform, which in reality involves getting your books out there on a myriad of social media sites. I duly heeded these wise words and set up accounts on WordPress, Twitter, Pinterest, Facebook, MeWe, YouTube, Goodreads and Google for starters. Other sites followed over time. I am sure visitors to these sites must have been sick to death of seeing my books.

I waited for my books to sell in their millions, but hey, what really happened was that I met a host of lovely authors instead who had also set up their own author platforms and were all trying to sell their books on these websites too. I got to know quite a few of the writers, but unfortunately the millions of sales failed to materialise. I quickly discovered that any sale I recorded was due to another author buying my book (s) when they were fed up of trying to sell their own.

Author platforms don’t really work. The only website that does work is BookBub, and they know it. That’s why they charge on average between £600- £700 to advertise just one book. When I win the lottery I’ll have a go and watch with glee as my books fly off the virtual shelves. I do sell a few on BookFunnel, but again it’s probably down to other authors buying them. What’s really needed is a reasonably priced website to advertise books to actual readers who are not authors.

Let’s see what advice other authors have ignored. Please click on the blue button below to find out.

Rules:

  1. Link your blog to this hop.
  2. Notify your following that you are participating in this blog hop.
  3. Promise to visit/leave a comment on all participants’ blogs.
  4. Tweet/or share each person’s blog post. Use #OpenBook when tweeting.
  5. Put a banner on your blog that you are participating.

You are invited to the Inlinkz link party!

Click here to enter
https://fresh.inlinkz.com/js/widget/load.js?id=c0efdbe6b4add43dd7ef