I’ve just been comparing last year’s WordPress stats that I made a note of in my diary with today’s figures, as it’s interesting to see how many hits and new followers I’ve had since December 2017.

This time last year I’d had 29,210 views, 792 followers, and 1091 posts.

This year I’ve had 53,866 hits so far, 4262 email followers, 1393 blog followers, and the number of blog posts I’ve written has risen to 1631.

I’ve learned a few other things too along the way, which I’ve listed below:

  1. Not to bombard readers with ‘buy my book’ blogs.  Once in a while is enough!
  2. To re-blog any posts that I find interesting, and/or share on Twitter or Facebook.
  3. Not to blog just for the sake of it when I’ve nothing in particular to say.
  4. To think of ways to share other bloggers’ posts.  At the moment I have a ‘Friday Click & Run’ and a free monthly writing contest.
  5. Not all writing/screenplay competitions are genuine. Some are there just to take your money.
  6. Not all author services are genuine. Some are there just to take your money.
  7. To check out small publishers very thoroughly before signing away the rights to your book (s).  You can easily find a print-on-demand publisher yourself and keep all your royalties.
  8. It’s a bit overwhelming to join too many Facebook groups, as it interferes with writing time.

I hope you all have a happy and restful Christmas.  I won’t be writing much over the holidays, but will be back bright and breezy in January.  Let’s hope 2019 is a good one for all of us.  x