Welcome to my last blog hop for a while, as not only will we be at our caravan next week and more often during the summer, but I’ve also decided to cut down drastically on social media use for my own peace of mind.

Is there a book in your TBR pile that you’re more excited about than the others?

I suppose there is… yes. I have bought ‘A Very Private School‘ a memoir by Earl Spencer (brother of Princess Diana), to read while I’m away on the Isle of Wight later on this week. I couldn’t resist as I love reading memoirs, and this book seems particularly interesting.

Description:

In this poignant memoir, Charles Spencer recounts the trauma of being sent away from home at age eight to attend a boarding school.

A Very Private School offers a clear-eyed, firsthand account of a culture of cruelty at the school Spencer attended in his youth and provides important insights into an antiquated boarding system. Drawing on the memories of many of his schoolboy contemporaries, as well as his own letters and diaries from the time, he reflects on the hopelessness and abandonment he felt aged eight, viscerally describing the intense pain of homesickness and the appalling inescapability of it all. Exploring the long-lasting impact of his experiences, Spencer presents a candid reckoning with his past and a reclamation of his childhood.


I used to think when younger that I’d missed out on not having a private education, but then again the shock of being 8 years old and being wrenched away from your parents to suffer cruelty and bullying at a private school doesn’t really do it for me. I’ve spoken to people who went to private schools and who worked in private schools, and from what they say I think I was happier going to my comprehensive school. The most worrying thing I heard from somebody who worked in admin at a private school, was that she suspected a few of the teaching staff were having sex with the pupils. There was I in my state comprehensive totally innocent and untouched, and that’s the way childhood should be. Some of these parents pay thousands of pounds per term, and all they might get is a damaged child for life with A* grades at the end of it all due to sexual abuse by people in a position of trust.

Let’s see what other blog-hoppers are excited to read. Please click on the blue button below to find out.

Rules:

  1. Link your blog to this hop.
  2. Notify your following that you are participating in this blog hop.
  3. Promise to visit/leave a comment on all participants’ blogs.
  4. Tweet/or share each person’s blog post. Use #OpenBook when tweeting.
  5. Put a banner on your blog that you are participating.

You are invited to the Inlinkz link party!

Click here to enter
https://fresh.inlinkz.com/js/widget/load.js?id=c0efdbe6b4add43dd7ef